Concealed Weapon Permits

This site is designed to give general information as well as specific requirements regarding applying for a carry concealed weapon (CCW) license from the Sutter County Sheriff's Office for those residing within Sutter County. For the safety of all personnel, all weapons must be unloaded, in a locked container with the actions opened and without the magazines (clips) when brought into the Sutter County Sheriff's Office. You will be turned away if you arrive with your weapons in any other fashion.

Issuance Criteria For Permit Applicants

  • Must be a resident of Sutter County and be able to show proof of residency. Only the following will be accepted to show proof of residency:
    • A valid and current California Driver's License or Identification Card
    • Most recent voting record for Sutter County
    • Garbage, Water, Electric or Cable utility bill
    • Current property tax bill with homeowner's exemption
    • Lease/Rental agreement from a Property Management company with contact information
  • Legal Resident of the United States.
  • Applicant must be 18 years of age or older.
  • No Statutory Prohibitions (based on applicant's background, i.e., criminal history, drug addiction, any mental illness, etc.).
  • Must attend and succesfully complete a California Department of Justice approved training course. The instruction must be at least eight hours and include firearms safety and the law regarding the permissible use of a firearm. The course of training must also include qualification for all weapon types listed on the concealed weapon (CCW) permit. For a list of Sutter County approved CCW instructors, contact the Sutter County Sheriff's Records Unit or the CCVV Coordinator.
  • Our office can provide a list of approved and certified courses and instructors.
  • Self protection is considered a good cause for the issuance of a CCW permit.

Conditions After Issuance

  • To have the permit renewed, the applicant must complete an updated course of training and the training shall be no less than four hours in length, and shall include instruction on at least firearm safety and the law regarding permissible use of a firearm.
  • Permit holder must report to the Sutter County Sheriff's Office within 10 days of any arrest of the permit holder.
  • No illegal drug use.

Permits are invalid if you violate any of the following

  • No alcohol consumption while exercising the permit and carrying the weapon.
  • No weapons where prohibited by law i.e. State Capital Building, public or private schools, colleges or universities, some Federal lands and Airports.
  • No weapons at locations where a "No Weapons Signs" are posted or other means of detection are present (metal detectors, wands, active searches of belongings, etc.).

New Applicants

New applicants, after filling out out the entire application, will need to call the Sheriff's Office at (530) 822-7307 to schedule an appointment. Do not sign the application. This will be done during the interview.

It is best that the applicant has already qualified with the weapon(s) prior to the interview. On the date of the interview, the applicant is required to bring the weapon and/or weapons with them un-loaded to the Sheriff's Office so that the weapon can be inspected and serial numbers documented. You do not need to bring the magazines (clips) with you.

New laws allow concealed weapons permits to be issued for two years. Your permit is good only in the State of California except for the restricted areas where weapons are not allowed.

During the interview, you must disclose any arrests regardless of disposition. Failure to disclose or provide the required information is an automatic disqualification for a CCW permit. After the interview, you will have your fingerprints taken. A check will be done by the Department of Justice and the Federal Bureau of Investigations (F.B.I.). Upon receiving clearance from the Department of Justice and the Federal Bureau of Investigations, your permit having been approved, we will notify you by telephone.

New Application Fees

The application fee is $132.00. Cash, checks, and/or money orders are accepted. Credit cards and debit cards are not accepted.

Renewing Applicants

Bring your original concealed weapon permit and your qualification certificate. If you are adding a weapon, bring your unloaded weapon in a locked container.

Fees for Renewals

The renewal fee is $60.50. Cash, check, and/or money orders are accepted. Credit cards and debit cards are not accepted.

Helpful information

Keep in mind the concept of having a concealed weapon permit means a weapon that can be concealed. Weapons such as 44 caliber revolver or other large weapons will be inspected by the CCW Coordinator before being approved and added to the CCW permit.

Denial of Application/Appeals Process

Applicants who are denied a concealed weapons permit will be advised of the reason for the denial. All applicants who are denied are granted an automatic appeal process. The appeal is forwarded to the Sheriff who will make the final decision.

Additional Information

For additional information or questions regarding the Sutter County Sheriff's Office's concealed weapons permit process or policy, please contact our office at (530) 822-7307.

Concealed Weapon Forms

Contact Information

Sutter County Sheriff's Office
1077 Civic Center Boulevard
Yuba City, CA 95993

Phone: (530) 822-7307
E-mail | View Map

* Adobe PDF document